Should He Joke About It?

My dad is scheduled for a procedure on Monday in Ann Arbor, Michigan that will stop the tremor in his left hand. I am very excited about this because he has an oak headboard cut out for my bed that he hasn’t been able to put together because…well, power tools and a tremor DON’T mix. Now just so you don’t think I’m totally selfish, he also likes to play cards and he’s getting tired of always having to hold them in his right hand.

My dad jokingly asked me, “If they slip with the knife, will you come and change my diaper?” We laughed about it but then I started thinking, “What if…” My sister-in-law reassures me that it’s a pretty standard surgery these days so I’m going to trust her since she’s one of the smartest people I know.

But, dad, it’s not funny and NO! I don’t want to change your diaper. So you’d better just hold still!

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

2 responses »

  1. I will be praying for your dad. Love your new blog Aunt Rhonda. Can’t wait to see you this weekend. Love, Sarah

    Reply
  2. Please tell your dad we’re praying for him and give him our love!

    Reply

Leave a comment