RSS Feed

My dad purchased his halo

7:00 a.m.

“I’d put up with a lot more if it will get rid of this tremor.”

That was my dad’s tearful comment as they screwed the halo on to his head in preparation for the Deep Brain Stimulation he’s having done this morning in Ann Arbor, MI. The tears weren’t from pain, though there was tremendous pressure on his head as they turned the four screws, but rather the hope he has placed on this procedure. He really wants full use and control of his hand again.

I found the job that I envied today. One of the nurses gets to hold my dad’s hand and talk to him all through the procedure (that’s her on my dad’s left). I believe she distracts but also keeps track of how he’s respondingdadwithhalo. It was very reassuring to know that he isn’t in there alone. Jesus has a physical body to work through this morning. I’m so thankful.

And now, the waiting game…to be continued.

10:30 p.m. Finally back in our hotel room after a loooooooong day of sitting around. Just in case you are thinking of brain surgery, here is what your day might look like:

4:00 a.m. Get up and head to the hospital

5:30 a.m. Check in and a million questions to answer

7:00 a.m. Halo attached – this entails 3 inch needles being poked into four places on your head to numb things, followed by a contraption being screwed into place…they tighten two at a time and my dad said it felt like a vice.

7:30 a.m. 20 minute MRI to locate where the implant will be made

8:00 a.m. Surgery.  We were told it would be 5.5 hours but it ended up being 7.5 hours. The first place they went in  did not produce good tremor response. Moved to another spot with great success!

3:00 p.m. FINALLY talked to the doctor. They feel confident that they have found the spot that will control the tremor when dad goes back in a month for Phase 2. By the way, we were told by the doctor that contrary to popular belief, he does NOT have a thick skull. 🙂

5:00 p.m. Mom got to see dad in recovery

6:45 p.m. Visited dad in his room. His head was completely bandaged, blood coming through in the spots where the screws went in. He was talking and bantering with his nurses and us. Very tired and very hungry.

7:45 p.m. The food tray arrived, much to dad’s pleasure – until he saw that it contained ONLY liquids. He was promised real food if he was a good boy and didn’t throw up all over his nurse.

THANK YOU University of Michigan Hospital!

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

8 responses »

  1. Great news! Thanks for the update. We were so glad to see you, too.

    Reply
  2. Praise God!!! This brought tears to my eyes…I am so thankful to God with all of you!!! Your dad is so brave…

    Reply
  3. Captured the truth of the day, honey. What a great writer you are!

    Reply
  4. Praise be to God for the miracles that he does through the Dr.s ad nurses. Thank you for your blog. I know exactly how your dad feels.

    Reply
  5. AWESOME NEWS!! God is good!! So happy for all of you and especially your dad 🙂

    Reply
  6. Rhonda,

    Loved the “blow by blow” description. I am so glad that your Dad’s is doing okay. I know how tense this was for you.

    By the way, where did you get the name “Confessions ….”. I was a cheerleader too. I think we have a lot in common.

    Glad you are home and Dad is okay. I know the rest of the Bier’s are glad as well

    Mary

    Reply
  7. Becky aka baby sister

    Rhonda, I was so glad to hear you were gonna be there with us. I may be tough but it was great having us ALL together again! I hate that you are so far….no I can’t move there stop asking! ha ha
    It was good to be there together for dad, I saw it in his eyes when he looked over at us and cried (me too).
    I love you Rhonda!!!

    Reply
  8. God is good and works in many different ways and through many different people and circumstances. I join you in thankfulness for the doctors, nurses and staff of the U of M hospital who treated your dad … and the positive results of the procedure. Thank you for the way that you, too, were His hands and feet to your dad, your family and those who read your blog. Love you Rhonda. ~Sue

    Reply

Leave a Reply

