RSS Feed

Thankful for The River

  • Warm
  • Secure
  • Welcoming
  • Friendly

These are words that come to mind when I think about the place I have been spending my Friday afternoons for the last couple of years. You can read about The River by clicking here. I want to focus on a couple things that stood out today. The River is known for its warmth:

  1. Physically – One woman walked in from the cold today and excitedly said, “I KNEW it would be warm in here.” (My Michigan family will not think that 48 is cold.)
  2. Emotionally – One woman was sad today remembering her daughter who would have been celebrating her 36th birthday (if she were alive). We sang happy birthday. I don’t cry easily, but I was doing all I could to hold on through the whole song.

I hope you have a place to go that is warm – in both senses of the word. If you do, I hope you will make a place like that for someone else.

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

3 responses »

  1. I love this post Rhonda…what a wonderful ministry you’re involved in.
    I’m so glad to learn more about it!

    Reply
  2. Rhonda! I love, love love this blog. I’m so glad I finally had a chance to read a few posts this morning. You pack a lot of thought provoking wisdom in a short writing. That, my dear, is a gift.
    Libby

    Reply

Leave a Reply

