RSS Feed

Ode to My Favorite Mother on her Birthday

Mom having a little fun...at Tom's expense. He had no idea.

I feel it’s important to start this sacred blog out with the TRUE Mrt. Yes, “Mrt.” Her name is really “Merla,” but I think she got tired of writing five letters, so she shortened it. Plus, how many people can say they have no vowels in their name. This photo is here just so my Tennessee friends understand why I am the way I am.

Let me make an account of some of her many attributes:

  • Wife for over 50 years…TO THE SAME GUY
  • Mom to three kids…the oldest being her favorite, I’m sure
  • Gifted with hospitality (and if they couldn’t get to our house, she brought them food)
  • People lover…someone always in our home
  • Devoted to Jesus…she and my dad still host a bi-weekly Bible study
  • Master craft-woman…seriously! She can knit, crochet, or quilt ANYTHING

Lydia, as the oldest grandchild, received the first quilt. I can't remember the year mom made this for her.

Grace's quilt - a gift for graduation. Notice that Granny made sure to match Grace's WILD room color.

This is Ellen's quilt from "Granny." It has little dolls all over it and my sister made Ellen a rug with a matching doll. In the far corner is a cupboard that "Papa" made for Ellen. It used to house little dishes but now is a home to photos and other treasures.

Nathan's quilt - Christmas gift 2009 (It was a Christmas we couldn't go to Michigan. When Nathan pulled it out of the box and the kids were helping him unfold it, Lydia said, "It smells like granny's house" and promptly started crying)

One October, mom asked me what I wanted for Christmas. JOKINGLY I said, well you’ve never made me a crocheted table cloth. I would love that. . . NEXT Christmas. She had it finished that same year!

Last Christmas, she found a scarf pattern in late October that she liked and decided she was going to make them for all the females (EIGHT of us) in the family…and finished them before Christmas!

So, mom, thank you for ALL that you’ve taught us…from caring for people to creating for people. We love you and are so thankful that God chose you to be our mom.

Happy Birthday!

Mom and Dad's 50th Wedding Anniversary

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

3 responses »

  1. Your mom is AMAZING Rhonda! The things she creates are works of art. And on top of all this talent she’s a wonderful, wonderful person!
    Any chance they’ll come for a swim meet this year : )

    Reply
  2. Well, any lady as crafty as her is automatically cool in my book! Thank you for sharing about your Mom. It’s nice to learn more about the woman behind the Aunt! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

