RSS Feed

They Didn’t Ask Me!

Have you ever been reading a newspaper or magazine article in which a survey was taken and thought to yourself, “They didn’t ask for MY opinion!”? Well, it happened to me again today.

Preparing food for Dave and Sarah's baby shower last year...a fun family event.

I was reading an article in The Atlantic, May 2011 Issue (okay, so I’m a bit behind on my magazine reading), titled The Joy of Not Cooking which was talking about the fact that we spend more and more money on our kitchens and less and less time in them. Their percentages were that, on average, women spend 5.5 hours per week in meal preparation and clean up and men spend 1.75 hours per week. I know that we spend more time than that…and I especially know that Tom spends more time than the male average. So, I decided that I would do my OWN survey amongst my friends and family.

So, if you would like to participate, please stick a piece of scratch paper up on your refrigerator and ANY time someone is in the kitchen preparing meals or cleaning up, just jot your time down. At the end of the week, send me an email or you can comment at the bottom of this blog. Next week I’ll publish our results.

Nathan fixed me a delicious breakfast one morning when Tom was out of town. YUM!

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

4 responses »

  1. Ooooh. I like this idea! I will try to keep a log. Starting yesterday you want? I can guestimate my time in there as well. I’m interested in seeing what use “regular” people come up with. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • I’m starting today…Wednesday. But whatever you do is fine. Even if we can only stick with the “logging” for 3 days, it will still give a good estimate. Besides, we think that about 73% of statistics are made up on the spot anyway, or was that 37%?

      Reply
  2. Does sweeping, taking out the trash, putting out the recycling, or eating late night snacks count?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

