RSS Feed

Games, Games, Games

Our family loves to play games. We use it as a way to hang out together, to relax (though not ALL games are relaxing, right Nathan?), and … play.

My personal favorite is Settlers of Catan – Cities and Knights. My “willing” players have moved away (well, Grace likes it if she’s in JUST the right mood) and I’m left with the ones that must be bribed or forced – though, as you can imagine, this doesn’t make for a very enjoyable game. Sometimes I say things to Nathan like, “Would you rather vacuum the whole house or play Settlers?” “Would you rather clean all the bathrooms or play Settlers?” 🙂 So, I must resolve myself to the fact that I can only play my FAVORITE game when Ellen and Lydia come home. And even then, Ellen cuts me off at two times per day.

I'm actually shocked that they are playing WITHOUT me. I must have been shopping at Good Williams Boutique with Aunt Helen.

Cards tend to be the game that most everyone will play any time. Although certain people won’t play certain games because they have a history of losing too often. So complicated! Around 8 p.m. each evening, our family can be found around the kitchen table with cards and one of our continuous score pads. These score pads will probably be made into a book one day. They serve not only to keep score, but also to jot little notes about things happening that day. For example, yesterday I wrote at the top of the score sheet “Today is my baby-brother-Raymo’s 48th birthday.” Another page will find an entry that says, “Mom cheated…she discarded and then took her card back.” Important things like that.

Grace and I have taken breaks during the day this week to play a game called “3-13.” (I’ll teach you sometime when you come for a visit.) We were very happy together…enjoying each other’s company.

It was a happy game day...for me! 🙂

This is the only time in my life I have gotten the "perfect score." By the way, LOW score wins in this game.

So the next time you have a free evening, pull out a game. At least ONE person will end up extremely happy at the end of the day.

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

4 responses »

  1. I love games too aunt Rhonda:). Great post! Great memories! Can’t wait for Ezra to be able to play games like UNO or pit 🙂 love u

    Reply
  2. I love games too…anyone for Scrabble : )

    Reply
  3. Kevin and I often reminisce about playing cards and eating ice cream with you guys in FLA!
    The good old days ! 🙂

    Reply
  4. I miss when the aunts and uncles would go to mom and dad’s and play cards or dominos…uncle Rollie would get so mad if you didn’t pay attention and play…
    I am still looking for the game we played together…I can’t remember the name right now but it will come to me after I post this message. I am also trying to find Mole in the Hole for Ethan.
    Thanks for a great summer memory…love you all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

