RSS Feed

Garden Update

It has been a sad year for our garden. The production of vegetables has been very poor. I’ve been thinking about a comment my dad made regarding a flower bush that they have. He said, “Year after year we mess with it, feed it fertilizer, give it extra water…and we’ve never had more than one flower on it. This year, we didn’t touch it and it’s FULL of flowers.” So, it’s made me wonder if I’ve messed too much with my garden. My neighbor ’tills up his clay each year and plants his garden and the result is gorgeous plants with an abundance of vegetables, which he kindly shares with us. Good thing, because we set up these “Square Foot Garden” beds and have a pathetic looking (and producing) garden. Next year we are going to ’till the garden area and stick the plants in.

In the meantime, the plants that we didn’t touch this year looked beautiful!

One exception in my garden was the radishes...my first year growing them. Unfortunately, I am the only one in our family that likes radishes.

This bush came from my sister-in-law. Two plants were together in the clump - BONUS! And they seem to like each other. It's a gorgeous bush.

This one came from my sister-in-law in Michigan. It seems to really enjoy Tennessee.

What can I say, the day lillies love our back yard.

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

Leave a Reply

