RSS Feed

Give it Up

Our tradition has been to give something up for Lent. At church, we usually make it “fun” and draw a card, giving up something like:

Though it's raining in Johnson City today (I LOVE a rainy day!), at least it isn't snowing.

  • speeding
  • internet for a day
  • chocolate
  • painting fingernails (especially funny when a guy draws this one)
  • Saturday morning cartoons
  • eating out
  • …etc.

This year we didn’t draw cards and I wasn’t even thinking that much about Lent when I read somewhere about a suggestion to give up complaining for Lent. (I’ll repost when I remember where I read it.) So, that’s what I’ve chosen for 2011. I have posted it so my friends (and policeman-like children) will hold me accountable. This will be a challenge because as I’m writing this post, all kinds of complaints are running through my mind. I suppose I’d better go and fill my mind with something else.

 

 

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

6 responses »

  1. This is great Rhonda! I will join you in this…you’ve inspired me!
    BTW I really love the new look of your blog : )

    Reply
  2. Oh I will DEFINITELY hold you accountable πŸ™‚ This is actually really good. I might repost your blog on my wall!

    Reply
  3. Yes, a great idea. Thanks for sharing. I’m very interested to see how you feel at the end of Lent. How was your life different without complaining? Did you have new interactions with people due to this practice? Did you feel the urge to complain about all the people around you that you notice complaining? Fascinating, indeed.

    May you have a fantastic Lent! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

