RSS Feed

Where I’m From (by Grace Bier)

I’m from a family based on laughter and love

Where we’re all accepted for who we are.

From spankings galore to turning out okay

And playing in the yard on a hot, summer day.

I’m from stories before bed

And mom never quite matching up to dad in that department

I’m from learning communication and never wanting to stop.

 

I’m from a no TV family

Rather pick up a book

I’m from Saturdays in your pajamas

Which is always nice for chilling

 

I’m from a big family with three siblings

I’m from parents who taught us about relationships

From parents who taught us to put God first

And treating others as we would want to be treated.

 

I’m from home-cooked meals and cooking together

From family gatherings and loud voices.

From eating until we think we’re going to pop

And loving every minute of it.

 

I’m from playing in two feet of snow and never wanting to come in

And from summers in the Upper Peninsula and Canada.

I’m from Michigan and then Johnson City

Where I’m from is not a specific place

It’s where I feel safe and accepted

And where my friends and family are.

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

