RSS Feed

Finally! Words that Fit Me

One question I’ve grown to dislike over the years is, “What do you DO for a living?” (As if this question reveals all there is to know about me.) Today, in the Johnson City Press, Kathryn Lopez addressed the question. So, on my 49th birthday I thank you, Kathryn, for finally giving me words to what I’ve done (and am doing) with my life!

Kathryn divides moms up in three categories:

  1. Working
  2. Stay-at-home
  3. Adaptive

Well, thanks to this article, I can now say, “Hear ye, hear ye! I am an adaptive woman.” The next couple paragraphs from her article will explain it.

Adaptive women have interests in both work and family, and … they seek to scale back their work when they have children in the home – especially infants and toddlers. But when they don’t have children, or their children are older, adaptive women are often interested in working outside the home on a full-time basis. So, their orientation to work and family shifts over the life course, and according to the needs of their children.

In other words, they’re neither just stay-at-home moms nor working moms: They’re women who do what’s best for them and their families at a given time. They don’t fit the standard conservative stay-at-home model or the liberal full-time-working-woman model. For that reason, they are often invisible in media and academic debates about work and family.

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

4 responses »

  1. If this had a Like Button like Facebook that is what I would push 🙂 Very nice! And Happy Birthday Aunt Rhonda! Im blessed to have you as my Aunt! and baby oglesby will be blessed to have you as a Great Aunt 🙂 Love that! Hope to see you soon and I miss you.

    Reply
  2. At long last. I have the same dilemma, too. Thank you so much for sharing this. Go Adaptive women, go! 🙂

    Reply
  3. This is SO you, Mama! I’m glad you finally found words to describe you. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Amen Sista! and I am not even a sista! LOL… After reading your blog (I love it!), this also decribes the proverbs 31 woman…which, I can witness too…you are! We’ll be in touch soon…love and kisses to All,

    ~Kevin

    Pro 31:10 Who can find a woman of virtue? For her value is far above rubies.
    Pro 31:11 The heart of her husband trusts safely in her, so that he shall have no need of plunder.
    Pro 31:12 She will do him good and not evil all the days of her life.
    Pro 31:13 She seeks wool and flax, and works willingly with her hands.
    Pro 31:26 She opens her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue is the law of kindness.
    Pro 31:27 She looks well to the ways of her household, and does not eat the bread of idleness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

