RSS Feed

Education Brings True Confession

I’ve never had a strong political opinion…mainly because I didn’t understand what everyone was arguing about. Finally, a true “confession.” I’m ignorant of political issues.

Now that I’ve taken the first part of U.S. History, I find that I have a much stronger political opinion knowing the history of what it took for us to BE the United States. I have just enough information to make me dangerous. No wonder some leaders wanted (and want) to keep knowledge from their underlings…makes them dangerous. Well, watch out leaders because next semester I’m taking U.S. History II!

If history is supposed to help us to make smarter decisions today, how is it that as I study the economic situation of the U.S. right after The Revolution it looks an awful lot like our economic situation today. I fear I’ve left quite a mess for my kids to sort out. Maybe there will be a “Jefferson” among them who will come up with an idea to cut 1/4 of the debt. Just don’t get rid of the Navy, okay?

Schoolhouse Rock – No more King!

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

2 responses »

  1. Nice, Mama. I was inspired by a 25 year old from Mexico who ran for Congress and is currently involved in the Mexican government because he believes as a Christian that is a place where he can be most effective in bringing change for the hurting and hopeless in his country. I admired that and I realized I do not know enough about politics in my country….ah well. đŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Hi Rhonda!
    Somehow I missed this when you posted it…can’t wait to hear more about your classes when you’re here at Thanksgiving!
    Love you,
    Helen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

