RSS Feed

Why, Oh Why?

These two grandkids have NO problem giving thanks!

These two grandkids have NO problem giving thanks!

I love rainy days…and it’s a good thing because it’s been raining a lot recently. I’m sitting in the library at Northeast State, where I’m currently a college freshman, at a table in front of a wall of glass overlooking the mountains. It’s beautiful, even with the rain. It’s making me a bit sleepy but don’t worry, the chairs aren’t THAT comfortable. If they had Starbucks chairs in here, I’d be in trouble…although the signs only say “no food or drinks,” not “no snoring.”

The rain is adding to my sad mood today though. My dad, mom, brother and sister headed to Ann Arbor yesterday. My dad’s “do-over” brain surgery was scheduled for this morning. It was postponed two weeks ago because the surgeon was sick. This morning, my dad woke up with a temperature of 102. They are driving back home this morning and surgery is now REscheduled for next Monday. It’s so disappointing. He thought he’d be back in his workshop by now from the first surgery.

He says he’s going to “give thanks in all circumstances.” So, what choice do I have but to join him. I will say that my “thankfulness” will look a lot better when his tremor is gone.

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

3 responses »

  1. Very cute picture : )…but I’m so sad for your dad and for all of you having to wait again! These things are so hard to understand from our human perspective…
    Love you all,
    Helen

    Reply
  2. P.S. I love rainy days too : )

    Reply
  3. Hey that is a cute picture. Cute little boy….man wonder who is mom is…ha ha ha
    love ya

    Reply

Leave a Reply

