RSS Feed

Frisbie Golf – One of the finer things in life…

Nathan & Rhonda after frisbie golfNathan and I played frisbie golf this morning at Wing Deer Park – a first for me. We had a great time. Here we are all hot and sweaty on the 18th hole…but we only played 13. We skipped a few in the middle because we were tired. I learned a new game AND enjoyed a beautiful hike in the woods. We were only out in the sun for a couple of holes.

These are some things I’d recommend when you play:

  1. Wear long pants. I did not and my stupid frisbie kept curving to the left into thick bushes and thorns.
  2. Bring more than one bright colored frisbie each (so that you can see them when they go into the thick bushes and thorns). We each had two and lost a red one on hole 3. Tom said it wasn’t his favorite so he forgave us.
  3. Write your phone number on the back of your frisbies. We did NOT do this but were advised to do so by a nice man and his two children who said, “Most frisbie golfers WILL call you if they find it.”Creature #1 during frisbie golf
  4. Be prepared for creatures along the trail. Here was one of ours which Nathan came within a foot of stepping on it. So, yes…
  5. Wear tennis shoes. That way when you and your son decide to skip a few holes and he says THIS is the way…and you follow him…and you end up scaling a mountain…
  6. Bring water bottles. We did not and after scaling a mountain I really needed a drink.
  7. Don’t keep score.

I highly recommend this free, fun outing. There WILL be a next time for me. I may not be able to correct my frisbie’s problem of curving to the left, but I CAN correct my other mistakes.

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

3 responses »

  1. Aunt Rhonda thanks for the tips 🙂 It looks like you had a great time! I went one time when I was in college with a friend. Im sure the JC course was beautiful! Looking forward to the end of the month with you guys!

    Reply
  2. Well, if I ever do end up playing, I will take your rules to heart. They seem wise. Especially about wearing tennis shoes in the event of impromptu mountain climbing. Gotta always be ready…

    🙂

    Reply
  3. Sounds like a lot of fun!
    Maybe we can do this on our next visit to see you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

