RSS Feed

Soar on Oakridge High!!

My niece, Jamie, graduated this weekend…5th in her class and we are so proud of her.jamie-graduation

The alumni speaker asked the graduates where they would be in 30 years. I started counting…AHHH, right back where I started. I graduated from Oakridge High School 30 years ago. And, no, I’m not bitter that the school board didn’t ask me to speak…just in case you were wondering.

The highlight of the ceremony was when the graduates had left the arena and the marching band began playing our fight song. I couldn’t help myself, I stood up and began singing the fight song as loudly as I possibly could. If I would have had more room (and some pom poms), I probably would have done the whole dance that goes with it. The unbelievable part to me was that my children didn’t join in singing with me. Come on! I taught them this song when they were young. They are now 21, 19, 16, and 12. Don’t TELL me they forgot it.

When the song ended, I finished it with the traditional, “FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT! Victory for OHS!!!!!!” The band director looked over at me and smiled. What a day!

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

2 responses »

  1. lydiainhonduras

    Wow. I wasn’t even there and now I am embarrassed for you and everyone around you. I love you, but did you really stand up and sing the fight song? Wow, I love you, Mama. And unfortunately….it still sticks in my head. We went to visit a city called Oakridge the other day and I immediately got a picture of your clear Eagle mug that we used to have and the audio file played in my head of you singing that blasted song. I am jealous of the people who got to witness this experience first hand.

    Reply
    • rlbreflections

      Yes, I did indeed sing it “boldly, proudly!”…and I still have the mug. I’ll let you use it when you come home.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

