RSS Feed

Brain Surgery – Day 2

8:30 a.m.wrap

“Would you go through it again?” mom asked dad as we came into his room this morning.

“I’m not sure. I know I’d be much more scared now that I know what I’d be going through.”

So, I’m thankful he didn’t know. Good response by the tremor means that in four weeks it will be a thing of the past. We’ll have to find something else to tease him about.

9:30 a.m.

o wrapDad’s doctor came in to remove the wrap. From the front, he looks normal – just a little puffiness.

Those with weak stomachs should read no further on this post…lots of dried blood. The photos are before clean-up.scar0519090916The wires are inserted deeply into the brain bilaterally on the back of the head. He will come back in two weeks to get the staples removed and back again on June 15th to have the generator inserted. That’s when the tremor will be brought under control. I’m afraid he’ll feel like the time is dragging until he gets to that date.

He has staples in the scar and said that it sounded like they were scraping his scalp after they made the incision. Gross!

I’m going to watch a clip of this surgery on the internet when I get home. I wish I would have thought of that beforehand…but probably better that I didn’t know before coming in.

11:00 a.m. Dad went for a walk and is now eating some lunch. Just waiting for the Physical Therapist to come in and give him the “all clear.” (Where are you when I need you, Danny?) 🙂

12:00 p.m. We’re cleared for take-off! We should be leaving here in about two hours.

Thank you for all of you who have written and let us know you’re praying. I’ve been reading your notes to dad.

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

2 responses »

  1. At least he has a little decoration on that bald head. Can we take a marker and make a smiley face on it? Anything would be an improvement. Hope the headache goes away soon. Love to all. Bea

    Reply
  2. It just blows me away the things that man can accomplish with modern technology. I mean, just a few decades ago, a surgery like this would have been impossible!

    So glad that things are going well. Will keep praying!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

