RSS Feed

Welcome to MY World

I was thinking today about my early 20’s. Wow, what a selfish time of life! I was self-sufficient with my job, my car, my friends, my apartment… just me, me, me, my, my, my. I didn’t give much thought to other people. Everything I did was for myself.

I remember going long periods of time without seeing my family. It’s so strange to think back on that now – in this day of cell phones, Skype, texting, chatting. I talk or text with my kids at least once a day. My poor parents. Of course, I was so rude to my mom as a teenager that maybe she was happy for the break. (That’s my way of escaping the guilt.)

The opportunities that are out there to really make a difference in peoples’ lives…limitless. And most of the time, they only cost time. That precious time that I can never regain. All those selfish hours – wasted.

So, I forgive myself for a past lived only for me. I lay aside my guilt and regret for all the things I didn’t do and look forward to serving and showing grace to the people God brings into my life every day.

Maybe it’s the extra 30 minutes I spend talking to a woman who has a Business Degree in Marketing but can’t find a job in her field… the 15 minutes I spend playing with 3-year-old Bradley while sitting with his parents in Starbucks… the two hours I give to help friends finish painting trim on their first home… the ten minutes it takes to be beaten by my son in two out of three games of bumper pool…

How much time does it take to make a difference in someone’s life? Well, how much time do you have?

About rlbreflections

Born and raised in Muskegon, Michigan. Graduated from Oakridge High School - Go Blue! Married a University of Michigan grad - Go Blue! Back in college full-time at East Tennessee State University - Go Blue!

6 responses »

  1. You ARE a dork for starting a blog, but now that I read it, I guess I’ll enjoy reading your deep reflections. 🙂 I love you, mama. I can’t wait to see you 🙂

    Reply
  2. Oh Rhonda! I’m so happy you’re blogging and I love your first post…it really touched my heart. You have been a blessing of grace in my life : )

    Reply
  3. By the way, I think we need to have a picture of the former cheerleader somewhere on this blog!

    Reply
  4. What a great first blog. I can’t wait for the next. I’m packing a kleenex before I read the next one, though. I love you, honey!!!

    Reply
  5. Joanne Fredericks

    My kids told me that the first blog was the most difficult, and could be considered a “throw away”, but Rhonda, this is great! I will look forward to hopping off Contemplative Mama to read your blog. I’ll bet cheerleading experience comes in handy in life as a wife, Mom, etc.

    Reply
  6. Love the title of your blog! Looking forward to reading!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

